Thin Crust-Pizza

I am a no cook person.
Seriously.
Before I got married, the only two things I knew how to do well is cooking rice and fried the eggs.
That’s simple.
So easy.

Oh wait.
I did learn how to cook when I was in New Zealand tho..
But it wasn’t that hard.
Only stir fry.
And am not sure myself how they tasted.

Maybe I should post one whole story about how I become a “better” cook next time.
Now I really want to post this easy homemade thin crust pizza. Not that I mastered it well, but I have been making this pizza for the past two years. I remember the first time I made it, it turned absolutely deliciously crunchy. The second time I made it, it was a disaster.
Too hard to bite.
I didn’t know what’s wrong.
The third time turned just like the first one.
And the next few attempts were, what should I say?
“What did I do wrong? I did exactly as the recipe says!”
Still, I have no clue.

Yet now, after many thumbs up and down, I know my dough well.
Even I can sense it if it is going to turn good or not.
At least that’s what I think.

Sometime, the water is too warm.
The water is not warm enough.

Just keep trying, and you know when you know 🙂

20140524-144901-53341609.jpg

Thin Crust-Pizza
source : http://www.thekitchn.com

For the dough:
Set the oven as hot as it can go for about half an hour.
3/4 cups lukewarm water
1 teaspoon active-dry yeast
2 cups all purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoon salt

You can put any topping you like. My favourite is tomato sauce with a lot of mozzarella and lots of tomato slices and mushrooms.

20140524-145750-53870508.jpg

In a small bowl, combine water and yeast. Make sure the water is not too warm! Stir to dissolve the yeast and it should look like thin miso soup.
In a big bowl combine flour and salt. Make a hole in the middle then pour the yeast mixture in.
Mix until no more water left and the mixture should stick together.
Knead on the table or whatever is possible for you. I usually knead for more than five minutes. I don’t know, I like kneading somehow. The dough should feel soft in your hand and not sticky.
If you think it’s still sticky, knead more or maybe you just knead a bit more flour.
Do not over add the flour.
It won’t turn out good.
Trust me here.
I learn it for two years, remember? It doesn’t proof me any better, but at least that’s what I did 😀
Here is the best part ;
no need to proof it
No extra one or two hours needed

If you need to prepare the topping, just leave it cover with anything, even the bowl you just used.

If you have a big oven, you can just roll it as it is. But if you have small oven, divide the dough into two balls and roll the dough as thin as you like. that’s why it’s called thin crust pizza

Top the pizza with your choice.
Bake for 20 minutes. Depends on your oven. That’s how mine takes. You just know when it’s ready.

Leave a Reply

