Life is Like Scrabble (My 500 Words/7)

“Twenty years from now, you will be more disappointed by the things that you did not do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover” _ H. Jackson Brown Jr.

Maybe at the time when I was young and vulnerable, I heard so much of that quote that I buried myself in the piles of my own world. Twenty years is such a long time and I was pretty sure that by the time it reaches twenty years, I would be busy with something else. And again to go back to those twenty years is such a long long miles.

What I did not know was, regret or the disappointment feelings that I have for not doing the things that I should have done do not come in twenty years time. It comes right after that moment has gone. Vanished from my sight. Puff! Just like that. And the worse part is, the thought that it was just a moment away. It is not ten or twenty years. It is just a slightly moment. I can still feel it, but it is out of my reach.

Isn’t it funny that life gives us options, in everything we do. Whether it is just a yes or no, left or right, black and white or more. There is no such thing as no option. When we say “what else should I do? Do I have any other option?” of course there is an option! Not doing it is an option, even when no matter what we do will give the same result. At least we did not do or at least we did it.

Besides, nobody can predict their own life, let alone other people’s lives. How could we know that this decision will make us not regret it later on? Or vice versa? If we choose the vice versa, will it make us happy too?

That how life is, no matter what we do, there is always something that we will regret. Because we never know what the outcomes will be unless we do it.

I like to say life is like a game of scrabble. Sometimes it is about luck because you do not know what letters you will get from the box. And you have to make the most of whatever letters you have. Sometimes good letters, sometimes they just cannot make any word. Yet those letters they have the biggest value. Imagine you have Q, Y, Z among other letters. They are so tricky to think of yet valuable. The thing is, whatever happen, whatever path we took, we should not give up, we should not lose hope. Just like the game of scrabble, if your letters are not making any words, throw them back in the box and get a new one. And if your life is not making any sense today, start again tomorrow.

“There is a way to be good again.”_Khaled Hossaini

 Ps: Somehow I feel this writing is running away from the real topic. I guess free writing is really happening here. No matter what, the quote is true in its own way and it is one of my favorite.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Life is Like Scrabble (My 500 Words/7)

  1. Adam Daikstra

    I’m at that same point too. Thinking that at this age, I would be doing something meaningful. Not to mention the countless hours wasted on things that didn’t serve to fulfill my goals. If there’s one advice I could give, it would be to start now. Whatever it is you want to try to achieve, start working towards it now and stop anything else that’s not helping. As the Chinese proverb goes, “The best time to plant a tree was 20 years ago. The second best time is now.”. Cheers from Malaysia 🙂

  2. vina

    Hi thank you for visiting my blog. Yes, I guess at some point in people’s life we will deal with regrets or anything like that, whether it is about our study, job, families or life in general. But what matter is how we deal with those. Just like “Adele”, she made amazing songs over her past. That kind of things what make us stand out from other people. Cheers 😊

Leave a Reply

